McMonigal Architects has maintained a presence in NE Minneapolis for over 37 years, so it was only natural to continue to be a part of this vibrant neighborhood.
Originally, the space served as the main office for the Crown Iron Works Company, which began as a blacksmith shop in 1878 and grew to become a large iron foundry for much of the 20th Century.
Several earlier interior renovations covered historic details and divided the interior into small rooms. While maximizing daylight and flexibility within the studio work environment, the design highlights the building’s structure, especially the original ornamental cast iron column capitals. The conference room’s high clerestory allows natural light to penetrate into the space, while maintaining privacy.